Rock Group the Cranberries and my Late Friend Jim.

Recently I’ve been hearing a song by the Cranberries. “Dreams” stands out for several reasons, first I remember it only played on certain stations as like an “indie band”. And not played very often.  It wasn’t on the Top 40 stations or on Casey’s countdowns.

Second back in 1999 or 2000, my late friend, Jim Cendrowski, was telling me about this great new band he heard on a coworkers tape player /CD player.

I can’t for the life of me remember how he described the music or the band but I said sounds like the Cranberries and they weren’t new.  He couldn’t believe I was familiar with them. Their two single were in 1993 so not new by any standards. 

At his memorial I mentioned his favorite groups. Lobo, Lynyrd Skynyrd s- Free Bird from the 70’s, John Mellencamp from the 80’s and Bare Naked Ladies and the Cranberries from the 90’s. 

Third item: the Cranberries songs Dreams and Linger are played more now than in 1993 and on more station genres than ever. 

I think of James Cendrowski often when certain songs come on. Miss you  Jim, and your antics and your company chasing frogs, bugs and mantids.  I was telling the younger Metroparks naturalists how you and I were some of the early Frog Monitoring volunteers back in the 1990’s before the early onset Alzheimer’s showed up in 2002 to eventually take his life at 48. 

He passed in February 2004.

RIP Jim. I understand your buddy Larry “bird” Lutz, RIP ,has recently joined you. And the lead singer of the Cranberries ,Delores   O’Riordan, RIP, has joined you. 

Copyright 2024

Gary J. Lovell

Dreams:

Linger:

.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.